DHI Hair Transplant Cost: Published Prices in the US, Turkey and Thailand (2026)
SeanT1 paid extra for DHI during a 2021 transplant in Turkey. For anyone comparing a hair transplant in Thailand, the bill shows a charge to ask about: SeanT1 reported EUR 400 (about $450) for DHI on top of the FUE fee, in a post dated 16 April 2024.
DHI, or direct hair implantation, can carry different prices under each clinic's billing model. DHI Thailand publishes THB 50,000 to 100,000 (about $1,510 to $3,020) for 1,000 to 2,000 grafts, while HairTran and Hairsmith include pen use at no extra charge.
The total varies. Your written quote may differ from a published band or starting price.
DHI Hair Transplant Cost at a Glance
The figures below are named businesses' published prices. The graft limits matter as much as the total: a starting package, a price band and a per-graft quote give you different information.
| Country and business | Published DHI price | US dollars | Graft count or price basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| US: Kopelman Hair | USD 5,000 to 15,000 | $5,000 to $15,000 | Total range; no graft count stated |
| Turkey: Estetica Istanbul | EUR 2,650 | About $2,970 | 4,000+ graft package at a partner clinic |
| Turkey: Istanbul European Clinic | From EUR 1,900 | About $2,130 | Flat package coordinated through partner surgeons; no count stated |
| Thailand: DHI Thailand | THB 50,000 to 100,000 | About $1,510 to $3,020 | 1,000 to 2,000 grafts; approximate band |
| Thailand: DHI Thailand | THB 100,000 to 200,000 | About $3,020 to $6,040 | 2,000 to 4,000 grafts; approximate band |
| Thailand: Dr. Top Hair Hospital | From THB 110,000 | From about $3,320 | Standard FUE / DHI, short hair, up to 2,000 grafts; THB 10,000 per extra 500 |
The published prices below were read on 18 October 2026, except Dr. Top's baht prices, which are as its page showed them on 17 October 2026. DHI Thailand labels its bands as 2025 data, and Hairsmith labels its rate 2025 pricing. The same Dr. Top page showed euro prices on 18 October 2026, so the currency it shows varies by visit.
We compare what these businesses publish and have not visited them or had procedures at them.
Dollar conversions use THB 33.14 = $1, from European Central Bank reference rates of 22 September 2026. Euro conversions use $1.1206 per EUR from 9 October 2026, rounded to the nearest $10 for totals and to cents per graft.
What DHI Means on a Price List
DHI as a technique
DHI stands for direct hair implantation. MedArt Hair calls it a "hair implantation method" and says the follicular units can be harvested using FUE or FUT.
Here, DHI describes implantation with an implanter or Choi pen. FUE describes the harvesting step, so a quote can name both FUE and DHI for the same procedure. DHI Thailand describes its pen as doing both steps, extracting and implanting grafts in a single step.
DHI as a clinic-group brand
DHI Thailand says it is licensed by DHI Global to perform the technique. In that source, DHI is also part of the clinic's name and group affiliation.
When another clinic lists DHI, check whether it means a pen-based implantation method, a named package or membership of that group. The price label alone doesn't answer that.
How Clinics Price DHI
Per graft
A per-graft price needs a graft count before it produces a total: the quoted count multiplied by the stated rate. No Bangkok clinic we checked publishes a separate per-graft rate for DHI.
Ask whether the count on the quote is an estimate and how a different final count changes the bill. A rate alone doesn't tell you the amount you'll pay.
A package or graft band
DHI Thailand prints approximate price bands alongside graft ranges. Dr. Top prices a base package up to a graft limit and adds a rate for each extra 500 grafts, while Estetica Istanbul prints a 4,000+ graft package.
So keep those terms in the comparison. Neither a range nor a package threshold gives you an exact per-graft rate to apply to another session size.
A DHI surcharge over FUE
Estetica Istanbul's DHI package is EUR 300 (about $340) above its FUE package at the same published graft threshold. That is the difference between two package prices; ask whether your written quote uses those same terms.
The implanter pen included at the FUE price
HairTran says it uses the Implanter Pen for every patient "at no additional cost." Hairsmith says it uses the pen in all cases at no additional cost.
For these clinics, adding a generic DHI premium to the FUE quote would overstate the published charge. So ask for the procedure price and confirm that the pen is included.
DHI Prices by Country, From the Businesses' Own Pages
United States
Kopelman Hair publishes a DHI range of $5,000 to $15,000. Its quoted price section gives no graft count, inclusion list or FUE price.
That range can help you decide whether to request a quote. It cannot tell you the cost at your graft count, or what a US-wide DHI average would be.
United Kingdom
My Hair UK publishes fixed hair-transplant prices with medication, aftercare and follow-up, but doesn't identify that price as DHI or publish a DHI surcharge.
For a UK comparison, request a written quote that names the implantation method. A general hair-transplant price won't tell you whether a pen is included or billed separately.
Turkey
Estetica Istanbul lists DHI at EUR 2,650 (about $2,970) for 4,000+ grafts. Its package describes a technician team at a partner clinic and names hotel nights, transfers and follow-up.
Istanbul European Clinic lists a flat package from EUR 1,900 (about $2,130) through partner surgeons. It says DHI has no separate price line and costs the same as the other hair transplants it coordinates.
Estetica Istanbul says it is an agency. Istanbul European Clinic calls itself a medical travel coordination company and says it doesn't perform procedures. It also says the graft count doesn't change its invoice. Our Thailand vs Turkey comparison covers the wider destination decision.
Thailand
DHI Thailand publishes the two approximate bands in the opening table. It says the actual price can change with graft count, treatment area, promotions or packages, and its cited price section doesn't list inclusions or exclusions.
Dr. Top Hair Hospital publishes separate "from" tiers in baht, as its pricing page showed them on 17 October 2026. The same page showed euro prices on 18 October 2026, so the currency shown varies by visit. Dollar figures here are our conversions at THB 33.14 = $1.
| Dr. Top tier | Published starting total | About (USD) | Published graft limit and extra grafts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard FUE / DHI, short hair | THB 110,000 | $3,320 | Up to 2,000 grafts, one session; THB 10,000 per extra 500 |
| Standard FUE / DHI, short hair | THB 150,000 | $4,530 | Up to 4,000 grafts, two sessions; THB 10,000 per extra 500 |
| Standard FUE / DHI, long hair, no shaving | THB 130,000 | $3,920 | Up to 2,000 grafts; THB 20,000 per extra 500 |
| Micro Sapphire DHI, short hair | THB 140,000 | $4,220 | Up to 2,000 grafts |
Hairsmith publishes a standard hair-transplant starting rate of THB 80 per graft (about $2.41), labeled 2025 pricing, with a minimum of 1,000 grafts. It doesn't label that figure a separate DHI rate.
HairTran lists FUE from THB 102,000 (about $3,080), without a graft count beside the figure. So keep it as a starting total when comparing the included-pen option.
For HE Clinic's shaven implanter-pen and Long Hair Transplant tiers, request a current written price and graft limit. Our Thailand hair transplant cost page covers the broader clinic and trip-cost comparison.
DHI Versus FUE Price at the Same Business
Estetica Istanbul publishes both prices at the same 4,000+ graft threshold, with the same package inclusions. That gives you a comparison with fewer differences in what the price covers.
| Business and scope | FUE | DHI | Published price relationship |
|---|---|---|---|
| Estetica Istanbul, 4,000+ graft package | EUR 2,350 (about $2,630) | EUR 2,650 (about $2,970) | DHI is EUR 300 (about $340) more |
| Dr. Top, standard short-hair tier, up to 2,000 grafts | From THB 110,000 (about $3,320) under "Standard FUE / DHI" | Same combined price line | No separate DHI surcharge on that line |
HairTran and Hairsmith provide another comparison: both say pen use carries no extra charge. Their wording answers whether the pen adds a fee without creating a separate DHI price tier.
Use our FUE hair transplant cost comparison for the FUE country tables. For a DHI premium, compare the same clinic, graft scope and package contents.
Worked DHI Costs at Published Graft Counts
For DHI Thailand's smaller band, THB 50,000 divided by 33.14 gives about $1,510; THB 100,000 divided by 33.14 gives about $3,020. The clinic attaches that price band to 1,000 to 2,000 grafts, without assigning each count an exact total.
Its larger band covers 2,000 to 4,000 grafts at THB 100,000 to 200,000, about $3,020 to $6,040. The bands meet at 2,000 grafts. So ask which total applies to your quote.
At Dr. Top, the published standard short-hair totals start at THB 110,000 (about $3,320) for up to 2,000 grafts and THB 150,000 (about $4,530) for up to 4,000 grafts across two sessions. Both tiers add THB 10,000 per extra 500 grafts, so a larger graft count raises the total.
Estetica Istanbul's calculation is EUR 2,650 x 1.1206 = $2,969.59, rounded to $2,970, for its 4,000+ graft package. The same-scope price difference is EUR 2,650 minus EUR 2,350 = EUR 300, about $340.
What a DHI Price Includes, and What It Does Not
Estetica Istanbul includes a pre-operative consultation and blood analysis, the procedure, post-operative medication and a first wash. Its package also names platelet-rich plasma (PRP) in the same session.
The travel and follow-up list includes three hotel nights, private airport and clinic transfers, and 18 months of WhatsApp follow-up. Flights and travel insurance are excluded. You'll also pay for personal expenses, meals beyond hotel breakfast and taxis outside scheduled transfers.
It also excludes optional sightseeing and a later second session. Those costs need their own budget if they apply to your plans.
Dr. Top lists a pre-operative check-up, four daily post-op cleanses and consultations, painkillers, medication and antibiotics. Its base list also includes a take-home hair-growth pack and video record, and says there are no hidden graft fees.
Dr. Top presents hotel and airport-transfer packages separately as extras. Don't add those services to the base price comparison unless your quote includes them.
DHI Thailand's price section supplies no inclusion list, so a hotel or medication allowance needs confirmation in writing.
Our hair transplant cost by country comparison covers broader international pricing. Keep each clinic's procedure total and travel costs separate until the quote explicitly combines them.
What Changes a DHI Quote
Graft count and the clinic's unit
DHI Thailand prices by approximate graft bands, and Dr. Top by a base price for the first 2,000 grafts plus a rate for each extra 500. Ask whether your quote counts grafts or individual hairs, and what happens to the total if the planned count changes.
Shaven, short-hair or long-hair work
Dr. Top gives standard short-hair and no-shaving long-hair work different price lines at the same upper graft limit. Its Micro Sapphire DHI tier has its own label too, so "DHI" alone doesn't identify the price you want.
Who performs each step
Estetica's package specifies a technician team at a partner clinic. Ask who performs each step in your own quote and which surgeon is responsible; the words DHI or FUE don't name that person.
Add-ons and follow-up
Hotel nights can be bundled at one business and offered separately at another. The same applies to the detail of aftercare: a duration alone doesn't specify appointments, medication quantities or the contact available after you travel home.
How to Compare Two DHI Quotes
Compare the scope before the total
Put each written quote into the same columns. The examples below show where a published price gives a firm item to compare and where you still need an answer.
| Clinic and DHI label | Price and basis | Graft scope | Stated inclusions | Separate or unstated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DHI Thailand, branded DHI | THB 50,000 to 100,000 (about $1,510 to $3,020), approximate band | 1,000 to 2,000 | No list in the price section | Travel, medication, follow-up and deposit terms not stated there |
| Dr. Top, Standard FUE / DHI, short hair | From THB 110,000 (about $3,320), one-session tier | Up to 2,000 | Check-up, four daily cleanses and consultations, medication and take-home pack | Hotel and airport-transfer packages offered separately |
A service marked "not stated" still needs an answer from the clinic. Our Thailand hair transplant packages guide covers package contents in more detail.
What should I ask for in a DHI quote?
Ask each clinic to put the graft scope and included services beside the total.
- The exact DHI label, whether a pen is included and whether it adds a charge.
- The billing unit, planned graft count or band, and the rule if that count changes.
- The total in the billing currency, taxes, deposit amount and written cancellation terms.
- The surgeon and staff roles for each step.
- Medication, tests, follow-up, hotel nights, transfers and any other stated inclusions or exclusions.
- The quote date and the contact for questions after you return home.
What Patients Report Paying for DHI
SeanT1's total for the 2021 Elithair procedure was EUR 2,400 (about $2,690) for 3,400 grafts. In the 16 April 2024 post, SeanT1 split that into EUR 2,000 for FUE (about $2,240) plus EUR 400 for DHI (about $450), and mentioned transport, accommodation and aftercare.
On 22 November 2020, mikeoc85 wrote of an Istanbul procedure: "I paid €2500 for DHI and they quoted 200-2500 grafts but took 2250." That payment is about $2,800; the lower limit reproduces the post's wording.
For Clinia LHR in Lisbon, HopefulHairlineLHR reported paying EUR 4,350 (about $4,870) on 26 November 2023. The account covers 3,000 grafts, PRP, two hotel nights, a post-op kit, medication and supplies, and describes implantation with DHI pens.
HopefulHairlineLHR said the total without PRP and those hotel nights would have been EUR 3,900 (about $4,370). That gives you two different totals for the same reported procedure, depending on the extras included.
In a reply in Fortitude's July 2022 thread about FUE / DHI with Dr. Dogan Turan in Istanbul, Fortitude reported EUR 3,250 (about $3,640), including a EUR 500 deposit (about $560). Fortitude said the deposit would have been returned with an early enough cancellation, making the deadline a separate term to request.
These are the posters' dated payments, not current clinic offers. They show why the graft count, extras and deposit terms belong beside the amount paid.
Why There Is No Single DHI Average Price
Averaging these figures would mix a US total range with Thai graft bands, Thai base prices with extra-graft rates and Turkish packages. It would also mix prices that include accommodation with prices that offer travel separately.
For your budget, compare written quotes at the same planned graft count and with the same services listed. Keep the clinic's own graft limit or band visible instead of turning every package into a per-graft price.
Get DHI Hair Transplant Quotes You Can Compare
To request quotes for Thailand, contact AsiaPatient with the clinics you're considering and ask for written prices showing the DHI label and graft scope. Request itemized inclusions and cancellation terms before paying a deposit.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a DHI hair transplant cost per graft?
No Bangkok clinic we checked publishes a separate per-graft rate for DHI. HairTran and Hairsmith include the implanter pen at their FUE price. DHI Thailand publishes approximate graft bands, and Dr. Top publishes base prices with a stated rate for each extra 500 grafts, so neither gives one DHI per-graft rate you can apply to every procedure size.
Is DHI more expensive than FUE?
At Estetica Istanbul, the published DHI package is EUR 300, about $340, more than FUE at the same 4,000+ graft threshold. Dr. Top prints a combined Standard FUE / DHI price. Compare the named tier and its inclusions before treating a difference as a DHI premium.
Does DHI always cost extra over FUE?
No. Dr. Top's standard price line names both FUE and DHI, and Istanbul European Clinic says DHI has no separate price line in the procedures it coordinates. A quote still needs to name the tier, graft limit and any separately charged services.
Does an implanter pen mean a separate DHI charge?
No. HairTran and Hairsmith both say they use an implanter pen at no additional cost. Ask the clinic to confirm that wording in your quote rather than adding a DHI surcharge yourself.
What does a DHI package include?
Estetica Istanbul lists the procedure, tests, medication, PRP, three hotel nights, transfers, a first wash and follow-up. Dr. Top lists base care but offers hotel and airport-transfer packages separately. Ask for the service list, deposit and cancellation terms in writing; the word "package" doesn't specify them.
Can I compare a DHI package with a per-graft quote?
Yes, once both quotes cover your planned graft count and you know what each includes. Keep an "up to" limit or a graft band attached to its package price, and ask how the bill changes if the final count differs. Add separately charged services before comparing the totals.
Read next
- How to pay for a hair transplant in ThailandClinic deposits, refunds, cards and installment rules, travel costs and what to get in writing before you pay.
- Hair transplant guarantees in ThailandWhat 14 clinic sites put in writing, which four name a free second procedure, the one-year timing and the one printed condition, plus what patients report.
- Hair transplant Thailand vs TurkeyWho does the work in each country, published prices against what patients pay, the hairmill risk and what real patients say.
- Best country for a hair transplantTurkey, Thailand, South Korea, India, Mexico, Poland, Hungary and home compared on who operates, published prices and aftercare.
Get a Quote for Your Case
For more information, see our guide on safety standards.
Pick the clinics you want a quote from, and tell us your hair loss stage, budget and timeline.
Get My Free Quote →Free, no obligation. Nothing goes to a clinic without your OK.