AsiaPatient
Updated 10 October 2026

Traveling With Prescription Medication After a Hair Transplant in Thailand

Part of our guide to hair transplants in Thailand. Traveling with prescription medication after a hair transplant means two sets of rules: the ones for leaving Thailand and the ones for the country you fly home to.

Several Thai clinics list take-home medicine in their prices: antibiotics, painkillers and, at two clinics, months of hair-growth medication. Whether that bag can go into your own country depends on where you live, what is in it and how much there is.

This page covers what the clinics say they send home with you, what Thailand's Food and Drug Administration says about taking medicine out, and what the US, UK, Australian and Canadian government pages say about bringing it in. Every rule names the page it comes from.

The Short Answer

What Thai Clinics Send You Home With

What goes in the bag depends on the clinic and the package. These are the clinics' own descriptions, so check each one against your quotation.

ClinicWhat its page saysPage
HairTran (Bangkok)"Free painkillers, anti-inflammatories, and antibiotics", a "Free post-care kit" and "Free 3 months of oral hair-growth medication" in its FUE packageFUE page
Hairsmith (Bangkok)"Hair growth medications for 12 months" in its priceCost page
Thai Hair Clinic (Chiang Mai)"Post-operative medications: antibiotics, pain relievers, anti-inflammatory drug, and sleeping pills."Cost and fees
Bangkok Hair Clinic"Take oral medication as prescribed by our doctors", with no list of which medicinesFUE page
Yanhee Hospital (Bangkok)Tells patients to ask for the quotation in writing and to ask whether it covers take-home medicationHair transplant page

Most of these pages don't name the drugs. HairTran's article on hair-growth medicine names finasteride and minoxidil as the two common medicines surgeons recommend, but its package line doesn't say which one you get.

The supplies run from 3 months at HairTran to 12 months at Hairsmith, whose article says the one-year supply is provided complimentary after a procedure. Both are the clinics' own claims.

For what else a package covers, see our Thailand hair transplant packages comparison and the cost page. Thai Hair Clinic is covered in our Chiang Mai guide.

Which Items in the Bag Are Controlled Drugs

Some items a clinic sends home can be controlled drugs. Every country below gives them their own rules. Thai Hair Clinic's list includes "sleeping pills" without naming the drug, so ask your clinic for the active ingredient of every item in the bag.

Diazepam, a sedative, shows how this works. Each government lists it:

Thai FDA lists codeine as a Schedule II narcotic. That shows why the ingredient list matters. It isn't a sign that any clinic above uses it.

Finasteride and minoxidil don't appear on any of the lists linked above.

Is It a Prescription Drug Where You Live?

Status matters because the pages treat prescription and over-the-counter medicine differently. Government records for single brands show the split:

Each record is one brand, not a rule for every finasteride or minoxidil product, and oral minoxidil tablets are a different product again. Health Canada also warns that "a medication that does not need a prescription in another country could need a prescription in Canada." In Australia, ask at a pharmacy how your medicine is classed.

Leaving Thailand: What Thai FDA Says

The Narcotics Control Division of Thailand's Food and Drug Administration (Thai FDA) publishes guidance for travelers under treatment who carry personal medicine out of Thailand. Version 5, dated 21 September 2024, covers narcotics and psychotropic substances only, and it starts from this rule: "The import and export of narcotics and psychotropic substances into or out of Thailand are generally prohibited."

Medicine typeExample on Thai FDA's listLimit for personal useWhat the guidance asks for
Psychotropics, Schedules II to IVDiazepam (Schedule IV)Up to a 30-day supplyA certificate or prescription from the prescribing physician
Psychotropics, Schedules II to IVDiazepam (Schedule IV)31 to 90 daysA permit (Form OC-2) from Thai FDA, requested at least 15 days before you travel
Narcotics, Schedules II and IIICodeine (Schedule II)Up to a 90-day supplyA permit (Form OC-2), requested at least 15 days before you leave Thailand

Thai FDA describes the Form OC-2 permit as "for patients treated by physicians in Thailand", and the 31 to 90 day sedative permit, which the guidance lists under carrying medicine out of Thailand, is requested the same way. The limit varies by medicine type, as the table shows.

The certificate or prescription lists the patient's name and address, the diagnosed condition, each medicine with its strength, instructions and reason, the dosage and total amount, and the prescriber's name, address and license number. Medicines "must be stored in their original prescription bottles, with the contents clearly labeled". The guidance also says import and export of narcotics and psychotropics outside the schedules in the table is "prohibited, including postal parcels." It says nothing about posting the medicines in the table.

One sentence mentions "all other medications" leaving Thailand. Those travelers don't need to declare them at the customs Red Channel if the medicine is for personal use, "in a quantity not exceeding a 30-day supply", and carried with a certificate or prescription. That sentence sits inside a guidance about narcotics and psychotropics.

The guidance doesn't mention finasteride or minoxidil, so it doesn't say what applies to a long supply of either. It lists an email for the Narcotics Control Division: [email protected].

That division deals with narcotics and psychotropics, so it's the contact if your bag holds a sedative or a painkiller with a narcotic in it. Thai FDA also says its requirements "may change".

Coming Home: What Four Governments Say

Bringing medication home from Thailand means following the rules of your destination, the country you land in. Each has its own page for travelers, its own quantity and its own default for prescription medications. Read the one for the country you live in, and note the date on each page.

United States

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) says, on a page last modified 14 March 2025, that medicine must comply with Food and Drug Administration (FDA) law, and with Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) law if it's controlled. Then it's blunt for citizens: "In fact, in most cases, it's illegal for a U.S. citizen to obtain drugs from outside the U.S. and import for personal use."

The FDA's personal importation page (content current as of 18 August 2025) agrees for most circumstances. It then lists situations where FDA personnel "may consider a more permissive decision". That is discretion, not a right, and the list has two alternative routes:

Neither page says whether hair loss counts as a serious condition, or whether aftercare counts as continuing a treatment begun abroad. For controlled substances, the FDA says the DEA "will generally make the decision". Non-citizens get a different instruction: CBP tells them to carry "a valid prescription or doctor's note" in English, keep the medicine in its original container and, as "a rule of thumb", bring no more than a 90-day supply.

United Kingdom

GOV.UK's page on taking medicine in or out of the UK covers medicine that contains a controlled drug. It says to carry that medicine in your hand luggage, and that it "may be taken away from you at the border if you cannot prove it was prescribed for you".

The Home Office's guidance on travelling with medicine containing controlled drugs (published 16 August 2019, last updated 11 April 2023) matters most if you live in the UK: "If you are habitually resident in the UK and receiving medical treatment abroad, the personal import policy does not apply to you. This includes if controlled drugs are dispensed to you abroad." To return with controlled drugs prescribed abroad, the Home Office page says to email the Drug and Firearms Licensing Unit (DFLU) at [email protected].

For medicine without a controlled drug, the same page says "you will need to check the regulations for importing with the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA)". It gives no quantity for that case.

Regulation 17(6) of the Human Medicines Regulations 2012 exempts a person who imports a medicinal product "for administration to himself or herself" from the manufacturer's licence rule. It sets no quantity, so it doesn't tell you how much you may bring.

GOV.UK says "You can only bring up to 3 months supply of your medicine with you." That sentence is on the controlled-drug page, after the letter rules for people who aren't UK residents, and the page doesn't say separately whether it applies to a UK resident treated abroad. The Home Office page adds that excess or posted quantities "will be seized".

Australia

Three Australian government pages describe the traveler's exemption: the Office of Drug Control (updated 28 April 2026), the Therapeutic Goods Administration (27 March 2024) and the Australian Border Force (9 October 2026). Together they ask for four things:

The Border Force names diazepam among the sedatives it treats on the same four conditions. The TGA's list of example medicines covers cholesterol, blood pressure, blood glucose and gastric acid medicines, contraception, antibiotics and sleep aids. It doesn't name hair-loss medicines, and the list is introduced by "This includes:", so it isn't presented as complete, so confirm yours with the Border Force.

Canada

Canada's wording is direct. Health Canada's guidance GUI-0116 (date modified 13 July 2026) says: "Generally, residents of Canada are not allowed to bring prescription drugs into Canada for people or animals. This includes whether you carry them across the border or have them delivered by mail or courier."

Health Canada may permit a personal quantity, "a 90-day supply or a single course of treatment", in listed situations. Read the exceptions closely. Two matter here:

The page doesn't say whether a hair transplant aftercare regimen counts as treatment that "was required to be initiated while abroad". For ongoing treatment started abroad, it says residents "should speak with their doctor about accessing a licensed product in Canada".

Over-the-counter medicine is treated differently. Health Canada's guidance says residents and visitors may bring "a personal use quantity (a 90-day supply or single course of treatment)" of an OTC medication without needing an import license. Health products must arrive in the package dispensed by the hospital or pharmacy, in the original retail package, or with the original label attached.

For a controlled substance, Health Canada's travel page (date modified 1 October 2026) allows "up to a 90-day supply of a controlled substance". It says "You must declare the medication to customs when you arrive in Canada." The label must show this information: the patient, the prescribing practitioner, the medication, the daily dose, the form, quantity and strength, and any drug identification number. You can't mail such products in.

The Four Countries at a Glance

CountryWhere the rule isQuantity figurePaperwork the page namesDeclare
United StatesCBP (14 Mar 2025), FDA (18 Aug 2025)FDA serious-condition route: generally not more than three months. Non-citizens: 90 days, a CBP "rule of thumb"Non-citizens: prescription or doctor's note in English, original container. FDA serious-condition route: US-licensed doctor or evidence of a treatment begun abroad, plus a written personal-use statementNot stated
United KingdomGOV.UK, Home Office (11 Apr 2023)3 months, for medicine containing a controlled drugA letter from your doctor or prescribing clinician (recommended). UK residents treated abroad with controlled drugs email the DFLUNot stated
AustraliaODC (28 Apr 2026), TGA (27 Mar 2024), ABF (9 Oct 2026)3 monthsPrescription or doctor's letter naming the medicine and dosage, in English. Original packaging with the dispensing labelYes, to the Border Force
CanadaHealth Canada GUI-0116 (13 Jul 2026), controlled-substances page (1 Oct 2026)90-day supply or a single course, whichever is lessOriginal package or label. Travel.gc.ca also lists a doctor's noteControlled substances: yes

A cell that reads Not stated means the page doesn't mention it.

The Doctor's Letter: What to Ask Your Clinic to Write

Each government lists what it wants in its own words. Put together, the lists name this information. Ask your clinic for a letter that covers them, and ask in writing before you book.

Then pack to match:

Our booking guide lists what else to put in that request. The list draws on Thai FDA's certificate fields, the Home Office letter rules, the Australian pages, Health Canada's label rules and Travel.gc.ca's advice to carry a doctor's note. They come from different governments for different purposes, so compare your letter with the page for your own country before you fly.

A 12-Month Supply Against a 3-Month Figure

Hairsmith says its price includes hair growth medications for 12 months and HairTran lists 3 months, while the government pages above quote 3 months or 90 days.

We can't tell you what an officer does with a 12-month supply. The pages say this in their own words: GOV.UK says more than 3 months of medicine containing a controlled drug "will be taken away", the Home Office says excess quantities "will be seized", and Health Canada says border officers "may detain" a health product they suspect doesn't comply. Those are statements from the pages, not statistics.

The pages also say what to do if you need more:

Before the trip, ask your own doctor how a long course would be continued at home.

At the Airport: Carry-On or Checked Bag?

Airport security comes first. The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) runs screening at US airports. Its travel tips page says: "You may travel with your medication in both carry-on and checked baggage. TSA strongly recommends you place these items in your carry-on in the event you need immediate access."

TSA calls these "medically required" liquids and doesn't say whether a topical hair-loss solution counts. GOV.UK's hand luggage page asks for proof, such as a letter from your doctor or a copy of the prescription, if the medicine is a liquid in a container larger than 100ml. Tablets and liquid in a container of 100ml or smaller need no proof.

Travel.gc.ca says: "Keep all medications and medical supplies in your carry-on luggage."

TSA's page covers US airports. The rules for your destination are covered above. Screening in Thailand and at connecting airports may follow different rules, so check with your airline or the airport before you pack a large bottle.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I bring finasteride and minoxidil through customs from Thailand?

It depends on your country, and none of the travel and import pages cited here names either medicine. The US says "in most cases" it is illegal for a citizen to import drugs for personal use, and Canada says residents are generally not allowed to bring prescription drugs in. Australia allows 3 months with a letter and original packaging, and the UK sends you to the MHRA for medicine without a controlled drug.

Do I need a letter from the Thai clinic?

Several pages ask for one. Australia wants a prescription or a doctor's letter naming the medicine and dosage, and the Home Office recommends a letter from your doctor that you may need to show at the border. Thai FDA lists what a certificate must contain for sedatives and narcotics, and Travel.gc.ca lists a doctor's note among the things to carry.

How much medication can I carry?

Coming home, the figures are 3 months (Australia, the UK for medicine containing a controlled drug, the US FDA's serious-condition route) and 90 days (Canada, and CBP's "rule of thumb" for non-citizens). Leaving Thailand, Thai FDA allows up to 30 days of a sedative without a permit and up to 90 days with one. It gives no figure for finasteride or minoxidil.

Is diazepam (Valium) in my aftercare bag a problem?

Diazepam is a controlled drug in Thailand, the US, the UK and Canada, and the Australian Border Force names it among the sedatives it handles under the traveler's exemption. A UK resident treated abroad is outside the personal import policy and must email the DFLU. Ask your clinic whether a sedative is in your bag and what it's called.

Should the medicine go in my carry-on or checked bag?

Carry-on. The Transportation Security Administration strongly recommends it, GOV.UK says to carry medicine that contains a controlled drug in hand luggage, and Travel.gc.ca says to keep all medications in your carry-on luggage.

Can the clinic post the rest of my medicine to me?

Take care. Health Canada says residents may not have prescription drugs delivered by mail or courier except in the listed situations, GOV.UK says more controlled-drug medicine posted to you "will be taken away", and Thai FDA's guidance prohibits postal parcels of narcotics and psychotropics outside the schedules it lets travelers carry. This page doesn't cover postal rules for the US or Australia, so check before you ask a clinic to ship anything.

Do I have to declare my medicine?

It depends on the country. The Border Force says to declare medicine on arrival in Australia, and Health Canada says you must declare a controlled substance. Thai FDA says other medicines leaving Thailand need no Red Channel declaration at up to 30 days with a certificate or prescription, and the medication section of the CBP page doesn't address declaring medicine.

Sources and Dates

The government rules above come from the pages linked in each section, read on 9 and 10 October 2026. Dates in the text are the dates those pages show. Clinic details come from the clinics' own pages, read on 10 October 2026, and are the clinics' claims. We haven't visited any clinic named here.

Rules change, so verify prescription medication rules for your country on its own page before you fly. This page is information, not medical or legal advice: ask your doctor about the medicine and your border agency about the rules. Our editorial policy explains how we handle sources.

Next Step

When you compare clinics, ask each one in writing what take-home medicine it includes, how much, and whether it will write the letter. If you want help with quotes, our contact page is the place to start.

Get a Quote for Your Case

For more information, see our guide on safety standards.

Pick the clinics you want a quote from, and tell us your hair loss stage, budget and timeline.

Get My Free Quote →

Free, no obligation. Nothing goes to a clinic without your OK.